Previous Next

Hartlepool CC Road Race

Curran gets the verdict

Paul Curran (Manchester Wh-Trumanns Steel) scored his first win of the season with his first ride in the Hartlepool CC road race on Sunday.

Curran, playing his usual game, waiting to see which move looked likely to succeed, did not have long to wait. After only six laps of the 1.6-mile circuit, Barnesbury CC's Ian Morris and Michael McVitie broke clear of the bunch with Jeff Wright and Mark Temple (Tyne Velo).

The gap soon opened to 10 seconds, which heralded the Star Trophy winner's escape to join the break with David Lund (Middridge CRT), Murry Burnley (South Elmsall), Paul Lamb (North Lancs) and Norman Dunn (Ferryhill Wheelers).

With 15 laps to go Billy Mitchinson (Gosforth RC) took off in pursuit of the break with Clough (Hambleton RC). Leaving his companioin two laps later, Mitchinson rode well to hold his position ahead of the bunch.

With only three laps to go Temple punctured, leaving eight riders to contest the uphill finish. Curran just got the verdict from the fast improving Norris, with Curran's training partner Lund third.


1. PAUL CURRAN (Manchester Wh-Trumanns Steel) 44m in 1-48-30
2. I. Norris (Barnesbury CC)
3. D. Lund (Middridge CRT)
4. P. Lamb (North Lancs RC)
5. M. Burnley (South Elmsall SCC)
6. J. Wright (Tyne Velo)
7. M. McVitie (Barnesbury CC)
8. N. Dunn (Ferryhill Wh) all st
9. B. Mitchinson (Gosforth RC) at 1-5
10. P. Bell (Barnesbury CC) at 1-20