Previous Next

Cleveland Division Track Championships

Paul hits top form

STOCKTON WHEELER, international track man Paul Curran, clearly demonstrated his class when he took both the sprint and 20 kilometre titles at the Cleveland division's track championship meeting.

Without losing a heat, Curran met Teesside Clarion's Steve Bell in the first of the final rounds of the 1,000 metre sprint championships and went on to beat Steve Davies of Ferryhill Wheelers-Dryden Insurance in the final.

Silver medallist Davies had beaten the other quarter-finalist, Teesside Clarion's Darryll Hindmarsh, before Bell and Hindmarsh battled it out for the bronze medal, which Bell claimed 2-1.

National Madison and points champion Curran reproduced his 1982 win in the Cleveland 20 kilometre title race, again lapping the field.

A late move with just two and a half laps left in the 43 miles race gave Middridge CRT's Hilton McMurdo the silver medal, while Teesside Clarion's Chris Armstrong, outsprinting the group of ten riders, made sure of third place and his first senior divisional medal.


Cleveland Division 20km Scratch Race

1. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh)
2. Steve Davies (Ferryhill Wh)
3. Steve Bell (Ferryhill Wh)

Cleveland Division 20km Scratch Race

1. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh)
2. Hilton McMurdo (Middridge CRT)
3. Chris Armstrong (Teesside Clarion)