Previous Next

Teesside Cycling Association '25'

Bradshaw routs field

MICK BRADSHAW, of Whitley Bay, was back on the A19 course between Crathorne and Thirsk for the first time this season to win the Teesside Cycling Association's 25-mile time trial.

His 59-52 performance was an outstanding ride in the conditions, on the open wind swept road.

Leaving Bradshaw as the only rider inside sixty minutes, Cliff Davison led home the winning Cleveland Coureurs team with his second placed 1-0-51 which put him exactly two minutes ahead of Richmond and Darlington's John Byers.

Having recently entered the junior ranks, Stockton Wheeler Paul Curran was just one second behind the Richmond man while finishing second on handicap with a net time of 59-22.

Second counter in the Coureurs team, Peter Bate, finished in sixth place with a time of 1-4-0. Barry Grieveson completed the team by taking ninth place in 1-4-37.

Richmond & Darlingtons Alan Lowes used his 9min 30sec allowance to advantage completing the course in 1-8-12 to win the handicap section.

The Cleveland track league got underway and an omnium race went to Cleveland Coureur Barry Grieveson, who finished with one point more than Stockton Wheeler junior Paul Curran. Teesside Clarion's Dave Thompson and Steve Davies (Ferryhill Wheelers) sharing third position.


1. Mick Bradshaw (Whitley Bay) 59-52
2. Cliff Davison (Cleveland Coureurs) 1-0-51
3. John Byers (Richmond & Darlington) 1-2-51
4. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh) 1-2-52

6. Peter Bate (Cleveland Coureurs) 1-4-00

9. Barry Grieveson (Cleveland Coureurs) 1-4-37

Handicap: 1, Alan Lowes (Richmond & Darlington) 1-8-12 (-9-30); 2, Paul Curran (Stockton Wh) 1-2-52 (-3-30)