Previous Next

Cleveland Coureurs Two-Up '25'

Clifton pair race off with title

NATIONAL junior road champion Ian Leckonby and his Clifton clubmate Keith Sawyers recorded a 32-second winning margin over Hull Coureurs pair, former national 50-mile champion Ian White and Kevin Douglas, to take the only competitive event during the Easter break, the Cleveland Coureurs two-man team time trial, writes Stan Hilton.

Using the recently modified A19 25-mile course starting near Crathorne, the York Club's winning team produced a 57min 55sec performance in wet conditions.

They were the first of the 47 teams entered to return a sub-60 minute ride.

White, who has registered some good form recently, winning the Buckstone Moss 25, and with Douglas, won the Hull Thursday "two-up," threatened to be the young Clifton men's biggest challenge, but were over half a minute adrift by the time they finished.

Locals fourth

The expected challenge from Hull Thursdays strongmen, Vic Smith and Derek Roe, fizzled out with a puncture at the halfway point.

A composite team of Colin Clews (VC Ventoux) and Stockton Wheeler Paul Curran were the fastest local combination, their time of 59-41 being the fourth fastest of the afternoon.

Richmond and Darlingtons John Byers and Malcolm Turnbull came next with a time of 59-54.

Two teams from the promoting club found their way into the top ten, Derek Pearson and Brian Hedley produced 1-0-49, which put them nine seconds ahead of Barry Grieveson and Chris Dixon.

Coureur husband and wife team, Peter and Kay Bate, were in good form, covering the course in 1-5-4.


Just ahead of the two leading Coureur pairs, was Cleveland Wheeler Keith Parker teamed with Scarborough Paragon's Mick Storey, recording 1-0-16.

Stuart West and Don Urwin returned the best time for Cleveland Wheelers, 1-4-29, while Hambleton's Chris Vasey and Charles Cording were just one second faster.

Teesside Clarion's veteran pair, Don Armstrong and Wally Howe, were their club's best team with 1-4-21, but heralding a comeback after many years out of the sport, Tom Yendall rode alone to record 1-3-48.

Regular Ferryhill combination Adrian Dodds and Dave Oliver finished in 1-4-12, while Stockton Wheelers' leaders were Ken Wardill and Dave Nichol with 1-5-18, Billingham Paragon pair Dave Field and Jim Hutchinson recording 1-7-21.


1. Ian Leckonby, Keith Sawyers (Clifton) 57-55
2. Ian White, Kevin Douglas (Hull Coureurs) 58-27

4. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh), Colin Clews (VC Ventoux) 59-41
5. John Byers, Malcolm Turnbull (Richmond & Darlington) 59-54