Previous Next

Teesside Cycling Association Hill Climb

Murray smashes Hill climb record

From left, John Calendar, Ian Murray and Paul.STOCKTON WHEELERS junior Ian Murray has reduced the record for the annual Teesside end of season hill climb on Court Moor, near Kildale.

Leading his clubmates, John Calender and schoolboy Paul Curran to the team award, Murray improved on the long standing best performance for the course held by Ferryhill Wheeler Nick Hurst, by covering the steep 800 yard hill in 2-31.5.

Second counter in the winning team John Callender, with a time of 2-51.4. claimed second place in the event finishing 1.3 seconds ahead of third man Richmond and Darlington's Malcolm Turnbull.

Hartlepool Cameron-Strongarm rider Martin Bourner pushed himself into fourth position in the field of 22 local riders and was closely followed by Paul Curran and Teeside Clarion's Barry Grievson.

After the finish ...Cleveland Wheelers also had three finishers. Their best being Dave Brothwood with 3.17.8 followed by John Johnson's 3-41 and time of 3-56.2 from Ray Burnett.

Only one Coureur entered the event, Stuart Stanton whose time was 3-33.2. Secretary Alan Wright, of Billingham Paragon led the assault of the hill to record 3-16.6.


1. Ian Murray (Stockton Wh) 2-31.5
2. John Calendar (Stockton Wh) 2-51.4
3. Malcolm Turnbull (Richmond & Darlington) 2-52.7
4. Martin Bourner (Hartlepool Strongarm)
5. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh) 2-59.3
6. Barry Grievson (Teesside Clarion)

Alan Wright (Billigham Paragon) 3-16.6
Dave Brothwood (Cleveland Wh) 3-17.8
Stuart Stanton (Cleveland Coureurs) 3-33.2
John Johnson (Cleveland Wh) 3-41.0
Ray Burnett (Cleveland Wh) 3-56.2