Previous Next

Four Dales Road Race

Carroll ends Curran's winning run

A LONE attacking move by Tyneside Electric's Paul Carroll less than half-way through the 55-miles Teesside Dairies-Four Dales road race gave him a very convincing victory and the Bill Gibson Trophy.

Getting clear of the rest on the second prime climb over Newgate Bank following the run through Bilsdale, Carroll faced the cold wind and drizzling rain as he battled alone through Relmsley, Kirkbymoorside and over Blakey Ridge, before finishing at the top of Birk Brow to take his second win of the season.

The Teesside Clarion organised event, which was over the toughest course encountered by Cleveland fields so far this season, brought together 56 riders from Yorkshire, Tyne-Wear, Lakeland, Scottish and Cleveland clubs.

Last year's winner and the most consistently placed rider, with two wins and two second places during the past four years, Paul Curran, finished as runner-up one place ahead of Burnley's Colin Marshall, 35 seconds behind the winner.

Repeating his fourth placed ride in 1982, was Middridge CRT's Peter Stevenson, who was closely followed by Whitby Wheeler Chris Greaves, back in action after more than a season out of cycling competition.

Behind sixth placed Paul Blackett, of the Tyneside Electric Club were two local riders, VC Stockton's Iain McKenzie and Stockton Wheeler Alan Walker.


1. Paul Carroll (Tyneside Electric)
2. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh) at 35sec
3. Colin Marshall (Burnley)
4. Peter Stevenson (Middridge CRT)
5. Chris Greaves (Whitby Wh)
6. Paul Blackett (Tyneside Electric Club)
7. Ian McKenzie (VC Stockton)
8. Alan Walker (Stockton Wh)