Previous Next

Crescent RC Criterium

Stuart storms to ice-breaker

GUISBOROUGH'S Stuart Morris (Dinnington RC-Universal) outsprinted his national championship partner Paul Curran (Stockton Wheelers) to take his first win of the season in the Crescent RC criteriums at Newton Aycliffe.

Twelve riders were in contention as the final burst began in the second race of the three event series. Curran led the way up the final straight but Morris, who had taken third place behind the Stockton man the previous week, hit the front in the closing yards, passing the chequered flag first.

Former Teesside Clarion rider Hugh Cameron (Manchester) snatched third place ahead of Hilton McMurdo (Middridge CRT), Gary Cresswell (Manchester) and double winner at Hartlepool earlier in the month, Jonathon Clay (Leeds).

It was at the half-way point following a number of earlier attacking moves that the vital break was established, the field splitting as a group of 14 riders.

They included the leading six finishers and Simon Hart (Stockton Wheelers), Mark Crowther (Thomaby CRT-Been Bag), Mike Milen (Northern Velo), Chris Vasey (Hambleton RC), Paul Blackett (Gosforth), Mark Hepworth (Batley) and Steve Davies (Ferryhill Wheelers-Dryden Insurance).

Davies had the misfortune to puncture with just three miles left and the rest opened a gap which went unchallenged for the rest of the 21 miles.

With the previous week's winner, Joe Waugh (Gosforth) missing, Curran and Morris regularly added to their totals until Curran eventually took the lead with 31 points, three ahead of Morris.


1. Stuart Morris (Dinnington RC)
2. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh)
3. Hugh Cameron (Manchester Wh)
4. Hilton McMurdo (Middridge CRT)
5. Gary Cresswell (Manchester Wh)
6. Jon Clay (Leeds)