Previous Next

Cleveland Coureurs Open '10'

Quick juniors

The Catterick event was the second of the Coureurs weekend promotions, having the previous day organised the ten-mile time trial at Crathorne which resulted in two of their riders finishing in the first three.

Rutland's Tim Horton covered the A19 course in 22-26, two-seconds outside the course record, to win the event, 26 seconds ahead of Coureur Alan Topp.

Cliff Davison, the only other rider inside 23-minutes recorded 22-56 for third position.


Two of the area's quickest juniors filled the next two places, Stockton Wheeler Paul Curran completing the course in 23-10, taking the award for the fastest junior, 12 seconds faster than Chris Vasey of Hambleton RC.

Five seconds behind Scarborough Paragon's Mick Storey, Richard Young of Cleveland Wheelers recorded 23-29 for seventh position with Ferryhill's Roger Anderson next in 23-38.

Completing the Coureurs winning team, Tom Yendalls 23-44 put him one second ahead of a three-rider tie for tenth place shared by Richmond and Darlington's Chris Row, handicap winner Maurice Anderson and Coureur Barry Grieveson.

Cleveland Wheeler Steven Paulding proved to be the event's fastest schoolboy with his 25-7 performance.


Taking revenge for her previous weeks beating by Susan Hoare of Yorkshire Century at Catterick Keighley Velo's Brenda Atkinson finished in 25-49 to win the Yorkshire Ladies Cycling Association ten-mile event run in conjunction with the Coureurs' promotion.

National women's 100-mile champion Inez Finch, of Warrington, took second place with her 25-53, to finish six seconds ahead of third-placed Susan Hoare.

Spartan Wheeler Doreen Hugill was the fastest local woman, her 27-42 placing her eighth. One place behind, Pam Clayton produced a 28-3, performance to lead schoolgirl Ann Knight with 29-43 to a Cleveland Wheelers team win.

With a net time of 24-58 from her allowance, Pam also claimed second handicap.


1. Tim Horton (Rutland) 22-26
2. Alan Topp (Cleveland Coureurs) 22-52
3. Cliff Davison (Cleveland Coureurs) 22-56
4. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh) 23-10
5. Chris Vasey (Hambleton RC) 23-22
6. Mick Storey (Scarborough Paragon) 23-24
7. Richard Young (Cleveland Wh) 23-29
8. Roger Anderson (Ferryhill) 23-38
9. Tom Yendall (Cleveland Coureurs) 23-44
=10. Chris Rowe (Richmond & Darlington), Maurice Anderson (Richmond & Darlington), Barry Grievson (Cleveland Coureurs) 23-45

Ladies: Brenda Atkinson (Keighley Velo) 25-49
Schoolboys: Steve Paulding (Cleveland Wh) 25-07