Previous Next

Cleveland Division Individual Pursuit Championship

Gary takes pursuit title

ALMOST on the eve of the British track championship where he will again be trying for national honours, Teesside Clarion's Gary Cresswell added the 4,000-metres divisional individual pursuit title to his recent 20-kilometre championship at Clairville Stadium on Wednesday.

Having twice in past seasons finished as runner-up to Thornaby-Been Bag's Stuart Morris, Cresswell took a comfortable victory over silver medallist Stockton Wheeler junior Paul Curran.

Cresswell took control after three of the eight laps of the track with the young Stockton rider gaining valuable experience as he fought all the way in his first senior pursuit final.

In the ride-off for third place Cleveland Coureur Barry Grievson gained his second divisional pursuit bronze medal by beating Ferryhill Wheeler Steve Davies.

The final overall track league positions brought Curran some consolation having collected 32 1/2-points during the season's eight meetings.


Cleveland Division 4,000m Individual Pursuit

1. Gary Cresswell (Teesside Clarion)
2. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh)
3. Barry Grievson (Cleveland Coureurs)
4. Steve Davies (Ferryhill Wh)