Previous Next

Cleveland Division 20km Scratch Championship

Cresswell takes Cleveland title race

Teesside Clarion's Gary Cresswel1 retained his Cleveland divisional 20 kilometre track title at Clairville Stadium on Wednesday evening.

A national medallist at the distance, Cresswell escaped the field with only eight of the original 43 laps to complete, and rode on to win unchallenged by the rest.

Almost three-quarters of a lap behind, Stockton Wheeler Paul Curran narrowly beat Ferryhill's Steve Davies for the silver medal.

Curran beat the Clarion's Tony Wright and Malcolm Jackson to claim the opening 10-lap event, but it was Wright who came out on top to take the 500-metre handicap from Teesside Clarion's Martin Lake and Cleveland Wheeler Andrew Allen.

Davies just held off Cresswell and Jackson in the final of the 1,000 metre A class final.


Cleveland Division 20km Scratch Championship

1. Gary Cresswell (Teesside Clarion)
2. Paul Curran (Stockton Wh)
3. Steve Davies (Ferryhill Wh)